EK Dimensional Punch Flowers Tutorial…

27 Aug

Hi Everyone,  I have been asked by several people how I make the flowers I decorate my cards with using the EK Dimensional Punches so I thought I would do a bit of a tutorial so people can see how easy they are to make.  Here`s a picture of the three punches I will be working with…

There are other punches but these are the three that I own, Dahlia, Doily Petals and Carnation.  The first one I will show you is the Dahlia as it seems to be the most popular.   Here`s a closer look at the Dahlia punch:

To start with you will need 2 pieces of paper, each 11 or 12 inches long, these punches are a great way to use up any scraps you have lying around. So here is a pic of the two pieces of paper that I will be using for the first flower…

I decided to use a plain piece fof paper and a patterned piece this time.  You will use this punch just like any other border punch by following the guide and matching up the petals to it…

  Then you will do the other piece of paper…

Once you have both pieces of paper punched you are ready to assemble you flower.  For this you will need some glue, I use Aleene`s Tacky Glue but any all purpose glue will work.  I like to water my glue down and fill up this smaller bottle as it has a very fine tip and lets you apply your glue in fine little lines, it`s so much easier to control how much you use and it avoids using too much glue and that always makes a mess.  So here`s my paper all ready to go…

  And here is a pic of the glue I use: 

I draw a line of glue along the edge of one piece of paper and then place the other on top of the first piece of paper off set by half a petal.

 See the fine point comes in handy when applying the glue 🙂

 Now we make our flower using a quilling tool.  You could also use a pencil, but I find the quilling tool so much easier to use and it rolls the flower nice and tight.

 You will need to note if you use two different types of paper like I did, you will need to roll the patterned paper on the inside because when you unfold your flower, the pattern will show.  Keep rolling the flower up, I use a dot of hot glue periodically to keep it all secure.

Continue to roll right to the end and add a dot of hot glue to the end to complete it.

 So now we have the completed flower all rolled up and ready to go…  

Now all we have to do is unfold the flower!  Peel each petal back all around the flower.

Usually when I get to the center the end petals are only half petals so I snip them off.

 And there you have it!  Add a lovely bead to the center and you are finished!

 I hope this was easy enough to follow.  If not, just let me know and I will make adjustments.

Hope this was helpful!

Thanks,

Lisa 🙂

9 Responses to “EK Dimensional Punch Flowers Tutorial…”

  1. Lauren Brown August 27, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Thanks so much Lisa, this is awesome, I love these flowers and you make them so well. Awesome tutorial, I will be getting some of these punches very soon.

  2. Marilyn August 27, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I appreciate the tutorial and think you have really explained it nicely with pictures. 🙂 I’m wanting some new punches now. 🙂

  3. Lynda Woods August 28, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Great tutorial I love your flowers. I am always looking for new flowers to make and yours are surely an awesome example. I don’t have those punches but you can bet you just gave me a reason to go looking for them. Thanks again and you did a great job on the tutorial.

    Lynda

  4. Heidi Kimmerly October 15, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Fabulous! Love it! TFS!

  5. Lauren Brown October 20, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Just a follow up Lisa, I have found your tutie invaluable in making my own flowers from similar punches, thanks so much for taking the time to do this, Great work!!!!

  6. Kathy (muscrat) January 30, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    Thanks Lisa, you make it looks so easy. I will try again tomorrow.

  7. Samantha Swindle January 31, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    Thanks Lisa. That was perfect. Now I know what I was doing wrong!! DOn’t ask!!! LOL!!

  8. BJY August 20, 2013 at 2:27 am #

    Know this is an older tutorial, but I just found it and you’ve answered a lot of questions I’ve had about these punches. One question, how much water do you add to gour glue and where did hou find a bottle with such a fine tip?

    • craftingcottage August 20, 2013 at 8:31 am #

      Thanks for your comment! I just add enough to make it flow easier, just dribble a few drops in and give it a shake 🙂 I have given up on that type of bottle of glue, the tip clogs too easily. If you can’t find a fine tip bottle… just put some glue on a q-tip and spread it like that. I will work just as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

