Hand Made Flowers…. and Pins!

29 Jan

This crafting stuff is highly addictive!!! I follow a Lovely and Talented friend, Lauren because she has so much knowledge and I learn so much from her…. She makes the MOST beautiful flowers I have ever seen hand made!!  Check her blog out… go on, treat yourself!  http://laurenscraft.wordpress.com/

So I have been trying to make a hand made flower that isn’t too hideous…  Let’s just say… I’ve made piles of them and I usually get fed up, ball them up and throw them at the garbage can but sometimes I miss (I’m no basketball player) and they end up on the floor and my dog Sasha usually eats them LOL!!  I have to chase her around the house to get them before she swallows them! LOL!!

So here’s what I have come up with in my lame attempt at impressing my friend Lauren….

Ohhhh and I can’t forget this new little obsession of mine…. Hat Pins!  NOW THIS IS A HAT PIN!!! All three beautiful inches of it! LOL!!!  I stayed up late last night and made pins while I chatted with a friend on Skype… They are SO fun to make and SO easy!!!  Now that I have the pins LOL!!!! I want to shout out a BIG THANK YOU to Kim from The Cutting Garden for letting me know where I could buy them!!!   Here’s the link to Kim’s lovely store…  http://www.thecuttinggarden.ca/  Check out the beautiful ribbon I used on this card…. Kim has it in stock at her store…. and best of all…. It’s a crazy fantastic price!!!  I am so addicted to ribbon! LOL!

So there’s my flower….. Would you believe I made this with a corner punch??  I AM SOOOO Pleased with it 🙂  It was super easy… I saw a picture of a flower similar to this somewhere on the weird wild web and messed around until I figured out how to make it!

Hmmmmm…. wonder if my next happy mail winner will get some of these????? *wink*  It’s very likely!! 😀

Have a great evening!

Lisa 🙂

22 Responses to “Hand Made Flowers…. and Pins!”

  1. Debbie Dunham January 29, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Love the flower and hat pins! I just started making cards a couple of months ago and get inspiration from your cards! I am also addicted to flowers and ribbon! Now if I can figure out how to make a blog…(I’m technically challenged,,,and blond lol) maybe some day I will get a pic of my cards on it!

  2. Samantha Swindle January 29, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Love it!! You have got to do a tutorial on how to use your corner punch to make a circular cutout!!! I can’t figure it out!!!!

    • craftingcottage January 29, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      Trust me Sam! It was hard on the head!!! I went through so much paper trying to figure this out! LOL!!! I will do up a toot and post it… your eyes will roll out of your head when you see how easy it is! LOL!!!

  3. Yvonne January 29, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Lisa, I love that you break the rules! This card is gorgeous! You are sooooo lucky with the local store you have so close to you with such great deals. I love this….B E A U T I F U L!!!!

    Yvonne 😉

  4. Marney January 29, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    This is beautiful. The flower is interesting.. I will have to try figure it out.. Corner punches eh??? Agree with ALL the above comments.. You are a talented lady…

  5. Sheila Moss January 29, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Lisa, I love that flower!!! Please show us how to make it. I don’t feel that I am that good at making flowers either so I would love to try these. OOps! I didn’t read these first to see that Sam had asked for a tut also. Just goes to show you how beautiful they are and I would be remiss to not say something about your hatpin…LOVELY!

  6. Sue O January 29, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Lisa,
    Another awesome post! Thanks!. Honestly, I would have to say that the favorite part of this card is the hat pin! I love it! would you mind sharing with the rest of us, where you got them from? I haven’t seen any pins that have the little “cap” on the end, which saves everyone from getting stabbed!
    Thanks again!
    Sue

    • craftingcottage January 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      Hi Sue!!! Actually my lovely friend Sam sent some to me in the mail, she lives in the US…. I will ask her where she got them from and get back to you. I LOVE them! I am going to bribe… *ahem* beg/plead her to send me some more LOL!!!

      Sam if you read this I will be sending you some $ to pick up some more for me if you don’t mind!!! *hugs*

      • Sue O January 30, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

        Hey Lisa,
        I’m sorry, I thought that you had said Kim had told you where you could buy the pins. I must have misunderstood….sorry! I thought maybe it was somewhere local (Hfx Area).
        They certainly are beautiful!
        Thanks, Sue

  7. laurenscraft January 29, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Love it Lisa, love that flower, very nice texture, great hatpin, just WOW!!

  8. Rosie January 29, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    You art is beautiful, it’s more than just a card. Beautiful

  9. just4crafters January 29, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    You are amazing!!! Your flowers are soo beautiful!!! The distressing was also a nice touch. Thanks for sharing! ~Sophia

  10. Edwina Brown January 29, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    These are beautiful! Can you tell more about how to make these flowers? Thank you! Edwina Brown edwina.brown@live.com

  11. Kathy (muscrat) January 29, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    Love them! I need to get me some more beads….

  12. Donna Lueders January 29, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    WOW. So talented! I love that flower you did just an awesome job. And that pin, holy cow is that pretty. You are an inspiration. We are going to have to change your name to Chief of Inspiration to All:)

  13. Donna Lueders January 29, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    As for the caps for the pins, you can get them with the pins from Oriental Trading Co.

  14. Kym January 29, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    Stunning flower and hat pin! Love the color beads you used! I haven’t tried making these as of yet! But, they definitely look fun! Gorgeous card!

  15. craftingcottage January 30, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    Thanks so much for all your comments! I will do up a tutorial for making the flowers 🙂 I will get a start on it right away 🙂 Stay Tuned!! 🙂

  16. Castlepark Designs January 30, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Love your card Lisa, very pretty, and that flower is stunning! I am *ooing and aweing* over your hat pins too – they are fantastic!

  17. craftingcottage January 30, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I am probably being confusing again! LOL!!! Just to Clarify….

    The actual pins can be bought at Atlantic Fabrics in Dartmouth…. The little rubber ends came from my lovely friend Sam who lives in the US. Sorry if I wasn’t clear!!
    Lisa 🙂

    • Sue O January 30, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      LOL!!! No worries Lisa, I get confused easily these days anyway!!! LOL!!!
      Guess I will check out the pins next time I get to Dartmouth. I have noticed alot of people don’t have anything on the ends of the pins on their cards….not that I am anywhere near good as far as cards/crafting goes, but I think not having something on the ends of the pins would kind of stop me form using them. I be afraid someone, including my self would get stabbed!
      Thanks so much for clearing things up!
      Thanks,
      Sue

  18. Valerie H. Wilson January 31, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Drewling on my monitor!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

