Look Mel! Distressed Ink!…

6 Feb

When I was at crop night last Saturday night at The Cutting Garden http://www.thecuttinggarden.ca/   my new friend Melanie was singing the praises of distress inks… you know the Tim Hotlz ones???  I have two of these ink pads but never really put them to use…. So yesterday I dug them out and decided to give them a try.  I used my Frayed Burlap ink pad and a sponge to apply the ink to the edges of my paper on this card.  I have a question tho….. what is the difference with this ink from any other ink pad?  I use my other inks for this technique all the time and it seems to me to have pretty much the same effect?   Anyway…. I’m sure all you brilliant stampers will have loads of clues on what the heck I’m supposed to do with these inks, at least I hope you will!  I would love to hear how you use them!

So enough babble…  What do you think of my new stamp???  I have been Jonesing after this stamp for ages and Ms. Kim from the Cutting Garden ordered it for me and brought it in right away!!  I didn’t even have to wait 2 weeks and it was here!  THANKS KIM!! The stamp is by Flourishes and it is called Lenten Rose.  My Boss (who is terrific!) bought me water color crayons for Christmas and I just couldn’t wait to give them a try using this stamp!!  Thanks Vicki!!!  I loved using them and it was super easy to do.  I’m not really into coloring much but I can see I will be putting these crayons to a TON of use in the future!!! 🙂

Here’s a look at the whole card….

Not bad for a water color newbie huh????  I popped into Walmart on Sunday and found the loveliest string of beads for my pins, I just love the way the little silver caps look, they really add to them. 🙂  I was so pleased with how this card turned out I forgot to stamp a sentiment LOL!!! Oh well…. It will make a great all occasion card 🙂

I hope you have a nice evening and a great week!

Lisa 🙂

12 Responses to “Look Mel! Distressed Ink!…”

  1. sunflowermel February 6, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Great card Lisa!!! I LOVE the distressing on this card……yummy beads….we need to do some stick pins together some time!!!!

  2. Samantha Swindle February 6, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    The card is great Lisa. I love that stamp. Your watercoloring is perfect!!! As far as the Distress Inks go, I think the colors lend themselves to a more distressed look. I also use my regular ink pads for distressing, but some colors I can only find in the Distress line. That’s why i like them.

    • craftingcottage February 6, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks Sam! I must take a look at the other colors they have… I haven’t really paid much attention to inks… I am too hooked on dies! LOL!!

  3. mycraftingtherapyroom February 6, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Great card Lisa and great coloring!!! The distress inks are just a very versatile ink. You can swipe the ink pad directly onto your crafting mat, swipe two or three colors if you want, spritz it with a fine mist of water, take your piece of cardstock and rub it into the inks to mix them all up. Put as little or as much onto your piece of cardstock as you want. Let it dry and you end up with a very interesting background. You can use them with your water color pens too and use them to color with. Go check out Tim Holtz’s blog and he has a ton of tutorials on his site that use the distress inks!!!

    Yvonne 😉

  4. Donna Lueders February 6, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Not bad at all:) Very pretty stamp as well as the rest of the card. Ok, now spill your guts, how did you made that flower? Beautiful Lisa!

    • craftingcottage February 6, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      LOL! Donna that’s another rolled flower 🙂 I’m rollin em out nice and slow huh???? *laugh* I used my Cricut to cut it out like the other one that Kathy was talking about 🙂

  5. Valerie H. Wilson February 6, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    Hi Lisa…
    Love this!! Every detail is brilliant!! I had to chime in about my adoration of Distress Inks too as I use them in so many different ways other than just distressing. The ink dries slow enough to stamp and emboss with it and you can use them directly from the pad onto the edges of your paper for a deeper color and an even more distressed look than just sponging by itself. For inspiration, Yvonne is right, Tim is the master with his inks!!

    • craftingcottage February 6, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      Thanks Valerie! I am going to check out the the tutorials on these and see what I can come up with 🙂 They must be fun to work with because everyone is crazy about them! 🙂

  6. Kathy (muscrat) February 7, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Love it! I have six distress inks and keep forgetting to use them!

  7. Florence February 8, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Fabulous card Lisa. Love the aged look you have created with the inks.
    Regards Florence x

  8. just4crafters February 8, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    Gorgeous card Lisa!!! I love your flower stamp!!! You did a great job with using the distress ink. Looks fantastic!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

