Mixed Media Creations…

19 Mar

Good Morning!  I am back to work today after a nice long weekend.  I spent yesterday home alone in my craft room playing with my mixed media supplies and researching loads of tutorials that are available on pintrest.  I decided to just abandon all of that and  just apporach it like a card in a layout that I was happy with….

Canvas1Again, I am using My Mind’s Eye paper…. It’s one of my favorites. 🙂  A couple of weeks ago I picked up some scalloped circle punches from Kim at The Cutting Garden because I wanted to make flowers with them and they were a quick and easy tool for me to make up a bunch of them.  I love being able to make my own flowers for my projects because you can always find corresponding paper to make them match your projects perfectly.

Canvas2I used one of my music stamps and stamped all over the flowers and then spritzed them with water and crumpled them up.  They turned out so pretty!  Modeling Paste is one of my favorite things about Mixed Media projects.  I love to use it with stencils and the one I used on this project is called Mini Bubble Doily.  I sprayed it with some 7 gypsies pastel pink color wash once it dried.

Canvas3I wanted to have some type of interesting border to this so I used the Martha Stewart Wild Flowers punch around the page punch set.  I love the pretty soft feeling it gave to this project.  Kim got a new Butterfly punch in at The Cutting Garden by Martha Stewart and I just HAD to have it *roll eyes*  I really wish I could get off this butterfly kick but it doesn’t look like that is going to happen anytime soon! LOL!!!  This punch is really neat… it is a double punch so it punches a solid background butterfly and the another more detailed one for on top.  I have only just begun to play with this punch.. I am sure it will become my new favorite 🙂  The flourish is by Cheery Lynn and I have this die in two different sizes, I use these dies often.

Canvas4So there you have it!  A super fun project… lovely and messy, just how Mixed Media art is supposed to be!  I hope you have a chance to give it a try!  If you ever have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment and I will be happy to answer what I can for you.

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your day!!!

Signature

3 Responses to “Mixed Media Creations…”

  1. Debbie Reid March 19, 2013 at 7:07 am #

    So beautiful Lisa! Love all the textures on this and the monochromatic look! Plus it’s vintage!

  2. Lynn March 19, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    I am really loving this Lisa!

  3. just4crafters March 19, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Gorgeous piece Lisa!!! Love the soft vintage feel to it. The butterfly and border punches are beautiful!!! ~Sophia

Leave a Reply

