Sunflower…

20 Mar

Good Morning!  What a morning!  Ugh!  We are having a nasty storm and I am not looking forward to heading out in it to get to work!  I work downtown so I take the bus for convenience, but it isn’t very convenient when we are having a snow storm!  Oh well… I have a really nice long warm coat so I will survive.  Our mornings have become a bit crazy lately… My oldest dog Sasha, who is only about 6 has decided that she is afraid to go down the stairs *sigh* so we spend about 20 minutes each morning trying to gently coax her to come down with us.  The dog is SO neurotic about certain things it’s crazy!  This is her new phobia I guess… I need a dog shrink I think!  She is too big to just pick up and carry.. well we could carry her easily enough but she struggles so much we are afraid to carry her down in case she makes us fall.   I am not sure how we are going to sort this little problem out but we are going to have to figure out something!  Okay enough gab… on with my project.  This is my last canvas for a little while, this one is totally a Pinterest inspired one….

SF1There is lots of stuff going on with this one, loads of painting…  It was really quite easy to make, mixing my paints to get the right color was quite tricky but in the end I am happy with the colors.

SF2I love the technique of painting on bubble wrap and then stamping it on the canvas, I really like the effect it gives.

SF3I think next time I would make my sunflower a little smaller but all in all, I am really quite happy with my first attempt at this.  This is not my usual style and favorite colors but sometimes you just have to step out of your comfort zone.

Happy Wednesday and I hope you all are having better weather than we are here in Halifax!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Signature

5 Responses to “Sunflower…”

  1. Debbie Reid March 20, 2013 at 6:23 am #

    WOW! Lisa! This is gorgeous! The sunflower is perfect size! Fabulous use of colours and techniques. REally love this one! The touch of blue is perfect!

    Wishes.
    Debbie

    I too will be busing it today! Ugghhh.

  2. just4crafters March 20, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Beautiful sunflower Lisa!!! Love how the bubble wrap stamping and pot came out. Fantastic!!! Love this piece!!! Stay warm today!!! ~Sophia

  3. sunflowermel March 20, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    love love love this one but you know I would!!!
    ~Mel~

  4. Sherri Stone March 20, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    I think it’s great – bright and cheerful – everything a sunflower is and more!

  5. Lynn March 20, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    I love a touch of spring in a snow storm!

Leave a Reply

