Sail Away….

23 Apr

That’s what I would like to be doing right now…. Sailing away on some cruise ship to somewhere sunny and warm *sigh*  It’s going to be a rainy day here in Halifax and it’s quite nippy out so I am going to have to layer up to go to work today.  I just refuse to pull out my winter coat again *stomp foot*.  Ms. Lauren from Laurenscraft had some time to get crafty together this weekend!  I love our skype crafting sessions.  This time she had me dive into our much loved Pinterest account to find some inspiration to get inky.  I came across an awesome masculine card I wanted to CASE and here is what I came up with….

Sail Away 1It was a simple card to put together but holy hannah it was messy!  I am still struggling with getting the ink out from under my fingernails.  I need some rubber finger guards before I attempt this again!  I used white heat embossing for the anchors and boat stamp and then rubbed walnut stain Tim Holtz ink over the images and around the edges.  Then I made a paint brush nice and wet and dipped it into the walnut stain (using a drop or two from the re-inker) and splattered the whole card.

Sail Away 2Tony’s brother’s birthday is coming up and he needed a birthday card for him so this is what we will be sending across the pond to England for Geoff 🙂  I am pretty sure Geoff doesn’t have any interest in my crafty blog so I don’t think he will see it 😉  The Stamps I used were:  Sail Away from Stampin’ Up (the Boat… Thanks Kim for lending me this stamp)  I am putting this stamp on my order for the next Stampin’ up order.  And the Anchors are by Just Rite – Anchors Away.  Pop over and see what Ms. Lauren created for our little challenge!

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by!!

Signature

9 Responses to “Sail Away….”

  1. laurenscraft April 23, 2013 at 7:03 am #

    These cards are so good Missy, love them both, love your splattering, it is fantastic, you sure know how to rock a masculine card!!!

  2. sunflowermel April 23, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    I LOVE this card Lisa!!!
    ~Mel~

  3. theboxer1974 April 23, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    This is absolutely stunning Lisa – your cards are certainly top of the line!!

  4. Sharon April 23, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Lovely, Lisa. I am doing one for a male b’day as well. The stamp is similar but not quite the same I got at the store in Clayton Park which closed and the hq is in Truro.
    Thank you for inspiration.

  5. Leslie Schnare Harnish April 23, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Lovely work, Lisa. I left some comments over on Lauren’s blog as well. It is really neat how different each of the projects were that you both came up with while both looking at the same piece of inspiration.

  6. Marney April 23, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

    Very cool and vintage…. You too did have a great day.. Love the border stripe…

  7. Sandra Mangrum April 23, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Beautiful card!

  8. Lynn April 23, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Mr Lauren…who is Mr Lauren???

Leave a comment